SuperPACs on a smaller scale

11 Oct

Today during team study hall I was reading over some old articles I had read about SuperPACs and I realized that the material I had been mainly focusing on was very limited to strictly how SuperPACs are effecting the upcoming the election.  This made me want to see how SuperPACs effect other parts of politics or lesser know elections, and so I stumbled upon this article on Huffington Post.  The article describes how wealthy hedge fund manager, Robert Mercer, has put hundred of thousands of dollars into a Republican Super PAC in efforts to defeat liberal congressman Peter DeFazio. I found this rather strange considering Robert Mercer lives in Long Island, so it made me question his motives about defeating a congressman from Oregon. Regardless, I think this is a prime example of how SuperPACs can be corrupt, is it right that one man can have enough power to keep a congressman from being elected, ESPECIALLY when his power is strictly derived from his bank account.  Something to ponder..

Leave a comment